St. Saviourgate Unitarian Chapel was built in 1693 for Presbyterians, soon after the 1689 Act of Toleration, an act of Parliament granting freedom of worship. In 1756 the church became Unitarian.
It was constructed in the form of a Greek cross, with a lofty central tower, and was probably the first large building in the city to have load bearing brick walls. Its large windows give it a unique airy feel.
31 St Saviourgate, York YO1 8NQ